Confessions

#16 of 31 posts in 31 days

Maybe they are not so much confessions but a way to answer some questions that I get asked. Sometimes there are comments or questions during the session. Maybe you don’t say it out loud, but you’re thinking it.  So here it goes!

Confessions from a Massage Therapist:

I don’t really care if you forgot to shave your legs before your massage.  Seriously, I don’t even notice until you bring it up. So stop stressing about it! 🙂

I don’t think that you are rude if you don’t want to talk during your massage. I will follow your lead. If you don’t talk, I won’t talk. It’s your massage time you deserve silence if that’s what you want.

You can talk as much as you want during your massage. Some people relax more while talking. I will listen to you with open ears. I will try to keep my mouth shut. I will provide quiet support. Or we can laugh hysterically talking about reality TV and Soap Operas.  😉

If you get massage from me right now and we tend to talk and you really wish it was more quiet, tell me. PLEASE tell me.  You will NOT hurt my feelings, I am specially trained to work in near silence. We can talk later!  🙂

If you don’t tell me the pressure is too light, I probably won’t know.  Speak up! I want you to have the BEST massage experience every single time. If I need to apply more pressure let me know!

When I work on the muscles I really get into it.  My brain focuses so much and I become very focused on what my hands and the muscles are doing. Once my client even startled me because it was so quiet when she asked a question that I jumped!

Your feet are not ugly. I’ve seen bunions, crooked toes, missing toes and extra toes. And they aren’t ugly.

Your skin is fine. I’ve been a massage therapist for 9 years. I’ve seen psoriasis, eczema, moles of all shapes and sizes.

You are not too fat. I repeat: you are not too fat.

Sometimes I’m just as nervous as you might be.  I strive to do the best job I can but each person and each session is different.  I have to bring my A game every time.

I never get tired of hearing about how great someone feels after a massage.  If your neck has stopped hurting, that’s awesome!  I love it when someone tells me that the tingling in his hands has stopped.  I love to hear about the headaches that don’t come back for weeks!

I love being a massage therapist.  🙂

These confessions aren’t earth-shattering gossip, just honest thoughts from a massage therapist.

1 Comment

  1. August 17, 2012 at 5:47 am

    So true 🙂 Good things to get down on “paper.”


Leave a Reply

