What’s That Smell?

Oh! Excuse me! Just kidding, just kidding!

If you walk into my massage office and ask yourself or me, “What’s that smell?” the answer is aromatherapy. I like to include aromatherapy in your massage treatments. I think it adds a little something to your massage experience.

The most common aroma that I use is Lavender. Lavender is my go-to scent. Yes, I know, many places use Lavender. It smells nice. The scent is excellent for relaxation, stress relief, anxiety, and restlessness. I use Lavender the most because very few people seem to be offended by the smell. It doesn’t overwhelm the small space we use for your massage.

Peppermint is another essential oil that I use in massage sessions. It is great to clear up the my-nose-is-stuffed-up-from-laying-face-down issue. And it smells nice. Peppermint has a bit stronger aroma than Lavender so I won’t use it all day long.

Eucalyptus is the other scent I use. People really like it! It is great to put on a tissue next to your nose if your sinuses or allergies are acting up.

How do I use this aromatherapy? Simple. I put some drops onto a tissue and put it close to the face rest opening under the table. You don’t even see it!  Some people mix it with oil or lotion but I don’t do that. I would rather take a class or two before I start applying the essential oils to skin.

One reason why I like to use aromatherapy in each massage is that if you lay on my table frequently then the smell will trigger your brain to relax. Your brain will begin to associate the smell of Lavender with the feeling you get from a massage. As soon as you lay down and inhale the familiar scent your brain starts telling your body to relax. Simple. Brilliant. Awesome.

PS. I don’t charge extra for this. It’s just part of the whole awesome massage experience.  🙂

www.thecomfortzonemassage.com

4 Comments

  1. Leann Faulkner said,

    September 26, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Oh my gosh that is so true. There are times at the beginning of my massage when I just can’t seem to relax and then I take a deep breath and bingo…..I begin to let everything go. You sneaky thing you! : )

    • tlbradley said,

      September 26, 2012 at 9:48 am

      I try to use my sneaky powers for good and not evil 😉

  2. October 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    As an aromatherapist, I’m so happy to hear you’ll take classes before applying the oils directly to the skin–essential oils are powerful and really need to be used correctly. I actually make massage oils infused with safe and healthy essential oils and blog about aromatherapy–if you ever have questions I’d love to hear from you 🙂 For now, some essential oil on a tissue is a wonderful idea for your massages! Diffusers are great, too. livingthroughthesenses.com

    • tlbradley said,

      October 15, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      I try to be honest and professional. I can read a little about each essential oil and try to do things with them, but that wouldn’t be very honest. We just want the pleasant smell and any nice side effects from the smell. Simple, pleasant, perfect! 🙂


Leave a Reply

