Sometimes Skin Deep is Deep Enough

Do you ever have one of those days where you aren’t expecting much only to be rewarded immensely? Today has been such a great day all because of one conversation.

I have new client who decided to try massage therapy to ease her back pain. She has the kind of debilitating back pain that keeps her in her chair all day. She can’t go a single day without taking prescription pain medication. She has had surgery and is not wanting another one.

About 6 weeks ago her neighbor brought her to me to try a massage session. We talked for quite a while about her surgery, meds, pain levels, and activity levels. We discussed expectations. I was proceeding with caution with the expectation that she would stop me if it hurt too much. She was proceeding with desperation with the expectation that I might help bring her pain level from a 10+ to 6.

Can I just say… the pressure was on me!

I administered a very gentle massage to her back. Slow, gentle flowing massage strokes for an hour, mostly on her lower back.(Gentle like just applying lotion.) When she left she said she felt great and that nothing I did in the session hurt. She made an appointment for the next week.

When I greeted her this day she told me that she had been extremely sore for 4 days after her massage, but that the excruciating pain seemed to be less for a day or 2. I administered the same gentle massage for an hour. She said she felt great and made another appointment. Each week she tells me that she is very sore after her massage, but that the massage feels good. She also tells me that her pain levels aren’t changing, but she thinks the massage is helping. She sees me every week.

Today was the 6th week. The first question I ask her now is, “How is the pain today?” followed by, “How long were you sore after your massage.”

Today she answered with the most beautiful words. “I didn’t have any soreness after my massage last week.” I nearly cried! She went on to say that her weekend went by with less pain than normal. Less pain. She says she is only taking 1 pain pill per day now. She had been needing to take 2.

The desperation in her eyes is fading every week. She smiles more each time we see each other. She says she is thankful for the small relief she gets because it gives her hope. I do not promise to take her pain away. I simply try to help her to be comfortable.

And I do this with gentle massage. And love. Because I love to try to help people.

10 Comments

  1. amber said,

    November 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    What a fantastic story. I wish I could print it out for every client that thinks we are miracle workers and it only takes one session.

    • tlbradley said,

      November 2, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      I wish you could see the look in her eyes, Amber. She’s so hopeful. And thankful for the smallest relief.

      • amber said,

        November 2, 2012 at 8:39 pm

        Don’t you wish you could bottle that up? Such an amazing thing. Might sound weird but it reminds me of someone being buried under a ton of blankets… each layer you pull away they begin to surface. Not sure if that came out right. I think I need to go to bed now.

      • tlbradley said,

        November 2, 2012 at 9:01 pm

        Makes a lot of sense.

  2. November 3, 2012 at 3:13 am

    Well done!, that is fab news, it is so lovely when you can help clients out when they have been in such pain for so long – keep up the fab work

  3. December 4, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    That is great. It’s what I try to express when people ask me why I am an massage therapist. It’s also a great story for people who have been living with pain for a while that there may be hope.

  4. December 6, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    […] a fellow massage therapist and blogger shares a wonderful success story beautifully.  Read what Tracy says here.  It’s a quick […]

  5. July 14, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    […] a fellow massage therapist and blogger shares a wonderful success story beautifully.  Read what Tracy says here.  It’s a quick […]


Leave a Reply

